When it comes to baking without gluten, gluten-free baking powder is not a given.
It’s a common question; “Baking powder does not contain wheat, so it’s gluten-free. Right?”
Most of the time. But not always.
Baking powder is made of three ingredients:
The first two ingredients – sodium bicarbonate and acid salts – are gluten-free.
As for the starch element, most baking powders contain cornstarch (gluten-free) or potato starch (gluten-free), making those products gluten-free.
But a few brands use wheat starch as their moisture-absorption agent. That throws a wrench into the gluten-free universe.
But never fear. Baking powders without gluten are clearly labeled as “gluten-free.” Avoid using a baking powder with a label that says, “May contain wheat solids.”
According to manufacturer information, the following baking powder brands are gluten-free. Most of these products are available at large and small grocery stores throughout North America.
If you are unable to find baking powder that is gluten-free or you find that the can you have is old (passed expiration date, making it less potent as a leavening agent), you can make your own.
Place ingredients together in a small dish. Combine thoroughly with a spoon. Use immediately.
Yield: 1 tablespoon gluten-free baking powder
Keep in mind that this baking powder is single acting, meaning its leavening action begins as soon as the baking powder comes into contact with moisture. Double-acting baking powder rises more when it is exposed to heat in the oven.
More about Baking Gluten-Free Cookies from The Elf